The Department of Driver Services (DDS) regulates the Driver Improvement Program also known as Defensive Driving Program. This is a 6-hour course designed to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors. Driver Improvement courses may be Court Ordered, taken for Points Reduction, Driver's License Reinstatement, Insurance Premium Reduction, or Personal Education. We have permanently closed our location at Norcross High School due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We will be happy to refer you to a program in your area!
Due to the COVID-19 Coronavirus we will no longer offer the Department of Driver Services "Risk Reduction" (DUI) or "Driver Improvement" (Defensive Driving) Courses. We have permanently closed our location at Norcross High School, however, you may call to arrange for other needed services such as Court-mandated Clinical AOD Assessments, Community Service, Counseling and other judicially required/mandated services. You may register below for a Community Service Event!
CHOOSING YOUR REASON FOR TAKING THE 6-HOUR DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE:
Points Reduction ($95 Set by State Law)
You may complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program once every 5 years to remove up to 7 points from your record to prevent your license from being revoked. A Georgia driver license is suspended at 15 points for adults 21 years and older. To learn how many points you currently have on your license visit www.dds.ga.gov. Create a FREE account by clicking on "MY DDS" in the top right hand corner.
Court Ordered ($95 Set by State Law)
Many Courts in Georgia will dismiss a ticket for a traffic violation if the offender completes the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program prior to going to Court. If dismissed, there will be no points placed on your driving record and your insurance will not increase. NEVER SIMPLY PAY FOR A MOVING VIOLATION - ALWAYS GO TO COURT! AND TAKE YOUR DEFENSIVE DRIVING CERTIFICATE. For more details on what to do on the day of the court call our office and ask for Dr. Tait, Program Director.
License Reinstatement ($95 Set by State Law)
If your license has been suspended, you must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license is reinstated.
License Suspension under 18 years old
You must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license will be reinstated, if you are under 18 years of age and you are cited for one or MORE tickets that accumulates four or more points on your license in a 12-month period.
License Suspension under 21 years old
You must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license will be reinstated, if you are under 21 years of age and are cited for ONE ticket that accumulates 4 or more points on your license in a 12 month period.
Insurance Discount ($45 class fee)
Even if you have (0) points on your license you should take the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program to receive a discount on your auto insurance premium. The insurance premium reduction is determined by your insurance company but it is a state law that you are given a reduction. Contact your insurance company prior to attending class to see exactly how much money you will save.